Fear.

I haven’t written anything for a while, except for university assessments. I feel a little bit like I have lost myself a little bit. So I thought I would test out Poetry. I’m not particularly good at poetry, actually I’m pretty sure my poetry is awful. However, it is a simple form to experiment with, and at University I can’t write what I want, my poetry on my course has to be on landscape this year. So this is something I thought of. It isn’t brilliant, and it is literally off the top of my head. This is how I feel in the middle of a panic, usually when I am out and about with the dogs. I don’t have a picture to go with this, but I’m hoping the words will paint it for me.

Fear

Open eyes see nothing ahead

silent paths remain empty

each step taken is a vise at the heart

each breath is a sighed relief.

Concrete slabs littered in waste

focus falls on routine dancing form

weaving around disregard, negligence, and ignorance

a sound pricks the ears.

Gasp, look up, nothing still.

Drum, drum, drum, drum, drum.

A vise around the heart.

Steps quicken, just get back, just get back,

the eyes catch a glimmer of nightmare

the breath stops

blood drains away heart plummets away panic is cold.

Ice cold.

Muscles tense freeze

brain trapped in a state of limbo,                     what to do!?

It’s coming. There’s no time. The body can’t move. The brain “where to go?”.

Fast, still coming, no stop!

closer! no, no please wait.

Almost here, nononononononononononoNO! Ah!

It’s here, the body unfrozen, brain “Just run”.

Too late… it’s here now.

 

Leave a Reply

