Aerial Hoop – Flexibility

Move in the picture – I’m not sure what it’s called, I think its some form of variation from the top bar delilah, but not sure. This was strangely uncomfortable on the top leg. To be honest, I’m thinking the leg should probably be hooked on the rigging but having metal in the back of my knee seems pretty painful. I need to get my back leg lower as well…

16729504_1334806299911403_801898933160886447_n

Aerial hoop is one discipline that does sometimes demand flexibility all the way through. If people think a pole is unmovable to wrap the body around, well just wait until aerial hoop is added to the mix. The moves are really pretty, but to pose them effectively flexibility is one of those things I would definitely recommend working on early.

I had zero flexibility when I started my aerial/pole training. I couldn’t even touch my toes. However, now I can touch my toes, and over time my flexibility has progressively improved. My only issue is some moves would look amazingly better if my hips would just open! and my back would bend.

To get to the level that I want, that will compliment my strength in my training, I will need to practice stretching every day… The only way to make any real progress. The only warning I have is – listen to the body, it will get to a point when it will just open up. However, every body has a different time and effort spent limit before this point. Push too far and it will just ruin the progress made.

If interested in trying out any of these disciplines please follow the link below –

http://www.inversionpolefitness.co.uk/

Leave a Reply

